Adult Education

The Idaho Botanical Garden offers classes, workshops and lectures designed to meet the needs of the amateur gardener. Over 40 classes are held annually, on a wide variety of topics including plant care, watercolor journaling, yoga, composting, low water-use gardening, carnivorous plants and creating cement leaves.

Become an Education Host

Volunteer to become an education host and participate in the Continuing Education classes for reduced cost or for free! Contact Elizabeth Dickey at or call (208) 343-8649 for more details and to sign up.


Continuing Education classes are limited. Online registration and phone calls may precede mailed in forms. Please register early by phone or online for the best chance of securing a spot in a class or workshop.

Or through the IBG Administrative office at
2355 Old Penitentiary Rd,
Boise, ID 83712
or by calling 208-343-8649.

Click the buttons below to register online. After reaching the Continuing Education online registration page, members must sign in or log in to receive the member discount. The discount will show up at the checkout screen. Call the Garden at 343-8649 if you have trouble registering online or receiving your member discount.

Pre-registration is required for all classes to ensure that a class is not canceled due to low enrollment and to allow for needed materials to be purchased.

REFUND POLICY: No refund is given unless the Idaho Botanical Garden cancels a class. If you are unable to attend a session, please contact the Gar­den before the class to transfer your reservation to another person, to attend another class held during the same quarter if a space is still available, or to request a donation letter for tax use.

See the link below for the current list of classes. Please call to receive registration materials by mail. You may register online, or in person at the administration office, and over the phone 343-8649, Monday – Friday, 9 am to 5 pm.

Attending a class and need ADA parking? Please let us know in advance by calling 343-8649.



Register for Spring Classes

Backyard Composting

DATE/TIME: Thursday, March 8 • 6:30 p.m.

Gardening with Children

DATE/TIME: Saturday, March 10 • 1:00 p.m.

White & Green Tea

DATE/TIME: Tuesday, March 13 • 6:30 p.m.

Starting from Seed

DATE/TIME: Wednesday, March 14 • 6:30 p.m.

Raised Bed Gardening

DATE/TIME: Friday, March 23 • 6:30 p.m.

Adult/Child Cement Stepping Stone Workshop – SOLD OUT

DATE/TIME: Saturday, March 24 • 1:00 p.m.

Chinese Herbal Medicine: Not Just Skin Deep

DATE/TIME: Sunday, April 8 • 3:00 p.m.

Hypertufa Trough Workshop

DATE/TIME: Monday, April 9 • 6 p.m. (Part I), Monday, April 16* • 6 p.m. (Part II)

Black & Pu’erh Tea

DATE/TIME: Tuesday, April 10 • 6:30 p.m.

Horse Pastures & Controlling Weeds

DATE/TIME: Wednesday, April 11 • 6:30 p.m.

Chip Carved Gourd Bird House Workshop

DATE/TIME: Saturday, April 14 • 9 a.m.–1 p.m.

Bonsai Basics

DATE/TIME: Wednesday, April 25 • 6:30 p.m. (Part I), Saturday, April 28* • 10 a.m. (PartII)

Wildflower Walks

DATE/TIME: Thursday, April 26 • 6:30 p.m.

Soil Science for Gardeners

DATE/TIME: Sunday, April 29 • 1–4 p.m.

Wildflower Walks

DATE/TIME: Thursday, May 3 • 6:30 p.m.

Oolong Tea

DATE/TIME: Tuesday, May 8 • 6:30 pm

Concrete Leaf Workshop

DATE/TIME: Monday, May 14 • 6 p.m. (Part I), Monday, May 21 • 6 p.m. (Part II)

Paper Making Workshop – SOLD OUT

DATE/TIME: Saturday, May 19, 1–4 p.m.